Baldfaced lies.

 

Okay, let’s all just be honest.

Your emotions can sometimes come out of nowhere. 

And hit you like a brick.

IN THE FACE.

That was me last week. I couldn’t shake it. I was tired. 

Then, I was sick. 

WAIT.

Now I’m anxious. 

OH GREAT. 

Loneliness just showed up. 

Capture020616

I don’t know about y’all but when these emotions come in like a flood, I can’t say that I’m strong enough to NOT fall for them. I spend half a day wallowing in self-pity. Now I’m questioning every decision I’ve ever made since kindergarten. 

THEN, GOD smacks me in the head like “should’ve had a V8” and I remember that my emotions are a liar and I have to make a decision to ignore them. 

I can’t fake the funk and give you a quick-fix for Hurricane Emo but let me tell you what got me through this time; His Promise. AKA His word. Sounds cliche but when I begin to feel lost, it’s because I’m trying to navigate life by myself. 

Two problems with that though; I’m under qualified and couldn’t find my way out of a bucket most days. But I know where my help cometh from and I know to lean on that simple truth. 

He is my help. 

Here’s where the word met me this week.

1. When I battled exhaustion

Matthew 11:28-29  “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”


2. Sickness in my body

2 Chronicles 7:14  “… if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”


3. When I felt like I was alone

Deuteronomy 31:6 “Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the LORD thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.”

I read them, I recited them and even I walked around campus mumbling them to myself. 

And in my downtime, I read two blogs this week that God used to refocus my attention back to him, SheReadsTruth and Lynn Dove’s Journey Thoughts

I pray that when you find yourself overcome with emotion that you remember that God sees all, he knows all and that he would love for you to cast your cares on him.

Until next time

For His GLORY,

ashMarie.

Leave a comment